CS Masthead


Colvin, Finnicum Elected To Culbertson School Board; Murray, Labatte To Serve Froid

The results are in for both the Culbertson School board trustee election and Froid School trustee and mill levy election.

In Culbertson, two three-year terms were open on the school board. Mark Colvin and incumbent Paul Finnicum were both elected to three-year terms. Finnicum’s term was set to expire prior to his re-election.

Cheryl Kirkaldie’s board term also expired, but she did not seek reelection and Colvin took her seat on the board.

The unofficial ballot count was: Mark Colvin, 153 votes; Paul Finnicum, 149 votes; Jessica Schmitz, 128 votes; and Josh Kempton, 115 votes.

A total of 290 ballots were cast which represents a 38.16 percent voter turnout.

Election results are set to be canvassed at the May 15 board meeting. A reorganization meeting will follow.

Blake Murray and incumbent Lynda Labatte were elected to three-year terms on the Froid School board.

The terms of Labatte and Scott Westlund were set to expire putting their board seats up for grabs.

The unofficial ballot count is as follows: Blake Murray, 75; Lynda Labatte, 72; Scott Westlund, 67; and four other candidates who received one vote each.

Froid also called for several mill levies at this election. All of the levids passed with strong support.

The unofficial levy ballot count is as follows: elementary general fund levy, 81 for and 20 against; elementary building reserve fund, 76 for and 24 against; high school general fund, 89 for and 27 against; high school building reserve fund, 79 for and 35 against; and the high school technology fund, 81 for and 28 against.