CS Masthead


Macdonald, Norgaard To Face Off For Commissioner In November

Nineteen-year incumbent county commissioner Gary Macdonald of Poplar survived a challenge from three opponents as Roosevelt County primary election voters narrowed the field of candidates vying for the District 2 county commission nonpartisan seat from four to two Tuesday, June 5.
Macdonald garnering the most votes with Greg Norgaard of Poplar finishing second. They will face each other in the general election Tuesday, Nov. 6.
Macdonald received 194 votes and Norgaard got 134. Karli McGowan of Poplar received 87 votes and Brenda Redfield of Wolf Point got 84.
District 2 includes most of Poplar and the north side of Wolf Point east of Fourth Avenue North.
Road Fund Special Mill Levy
Voters county-wide reauthorized the Roosevelt County road fund special mill levy for another six years by a vote of 381-246.
It is a renewal of a levy voters approved six years ago.
It levies taxes at eight mills and raises $252,363 per year. It is the county’s main source of revenue for purchasing, crushing and spreading gravel throughout Roosevelt County.
Property taxpayers can expect an annual impact of $10.80 on a home valued at $100,000 and $21.60 on a $200,000 residence.
Only 25.2 percent of registered Roosevelt County voters cast ballots. According to the Secretary of State’s Office, voter turnout was low throughout Montana.
Other County Local Offices
Only two candidates filed for each of three county elected positions: sheriff, county attorney and Justice of the Peace Post 2, Culbertson district. There was no primary for those positions.
Sheriff: Incumbent sheriff Jason Frederick of Poplar is running for a second term with opposition from Vernon First of Fort Kipp.
County attorney: Incumbent Ralph “Jim” Patch of Wolf Point is running for reelection with opposition from Austin Knudsen of Culbertson.
Justice of the Peace Post 2 [eastern Roosevelt County]: Incumbent Penny Hendrickson of Culbertson is running for reelection with opposition from Wayne Webster of Froid.
Running for reelection unopposed are clerk and recorder Cheryl Hansen of Wolf Point, Justice of the Peace post 1, Traci Harada of Wolf Point and treasurer/assessor Betty Romo of Bainville.